top of page

About Us



Honoring Each Other, Uplifting our Community, Creating a Legacy


We are the Dallas Black Women Attorneys (“DBWA”) committee.  We foster mutually beneficial relationships among African American women in the Dallas legal community.  We accomplish this by developing programs that encourage service to the community and promote social and professional networking.


Our signature event, the Sparkler, is a luncheon at which we celebrate the accomplishments of DBWA members.  It culminates with the presentation of our highest honor – the Charyle O. Farris Trailblazer Award. The late Charlye O. Farris was the first black woman in Texas to become a lawyer when she was admitted to the bar on November 12, 1953 and the first African American to serve as a judge in any capacity in the South since Reconstruction.  Mrs. Farris was characterized by her dignity and strength, which helped her overcome the adversity she faced while accomplishing her personal goals and paving the way for success for other women lawyers. Many have benefited from her persistence and patience as she modeled a timeless principle: one person can make a difference in a community, in a profession, and even in our history.


Charlye’s accomplishments have left an indelible mark on the legal profession, and her spirit and tenacity have left an indelible mark on our hearts. Therefore, in 2010, DBWA presented the first annual Charlye O. Farris Award in the namesake of her legendary career and commitment. The award is presented annually to a trailblazer who represents the character and achievement of the late Charlye O. Farris.


Current Recipient

2023 Honoree to be Announced

Past Recipients

2022 United States Representative Jasmine Crockett

2021 Judge Ada Brown 

2020 Shonn Evans Brown 

2019 Karen D. McCloud

2018 DeMetris Sampson 

2017 The Honorable Rhonda Hunter.

2016 Thelma Clardy

2015 The Honorable Phyllis Lister Brown

2014 Professor Cheryl Brown Wattley

2013 The Honorable Erleigh Wiley

2012 The Honorable Tonya Parker

2011 The Honorable Cheryl Lee Shannon

2010 The Honorable Chief Justice Carolyn Wright



bottom of page